MY BOOKS – POETRY, Humor, Social Commentaries, Critique

http://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM – On Amazon, at Borders’ stores, etc

 

 

Click on the photos to go to Amazon

Click on the title links to buy from Createspace

 

 

 

 

“I know of NO modern writer, still alive, or dead, who writes with such honesty, such power, and, such erudition.”
“Dean is a combination of thought and torment that has made him write more than a baker’s dozen of fine poems.. he might produce a collection that could astound us all.” – Irving Layton
“Having read Dark Earth by Dean J Baker my first reaction is WOW. This was written for me. His poetry speaks to me deep down in my soul.”

..for poignant and thought provoking insight and new ideas, one would be hard pressed to do better than Dean J. Baker’s Silence Louder Than A Train.’

A bold and refreshing approach to modern poetry, one that breaks the rules when necessary and yet conforms when it suits. Highly recommended…

“Dean Baker’s book The Mythologies of Love is savagely introspective yet as with his previous collection of poetry, Silence Louder Than A Train, refrains from the tedium of the confessional.”

“Required reading for anyone wanting to learn about wit, wordplay, and good, gritty writing in general. Dean Baker knows how to turn a phrase upside down and kick it full strength out the door. Five stars, and here’s to many more…”

Some reviews: https://deanjbaker.wordpress.com/awards/reviews/

https://deanjbaker.wordpress.com/best-review-of-dark-earth/

 

SOLILOQUIES Of THE HORIZONS, 102 pages, $15.99

 

 

 

 

 

BLOOD UPON THE MOON, 132 pages, $16.99

 

 

 

 

 

 

ThE LOST CANADIAN, Poems Selected, Vol. 2, http://www.createspace.com/6318391, 110 pages, $17.99

 

 

 

 

 

THE LOST CANADIAN, Early Selected Poems, Vol.1, http://www.createspace.com/6252564, 112 pages, $16.99

 

 

 

 

 

THE POETRY HOTELhttp://www.createspace.com/5904118, 104 pages, $14.99

 

 

 

 

 

COUSIN HAROLD’S ADVENTURES IN THE REAL WORLDhttp://www.createspace.com/5995746, 104 pages, $10.99


 

 

 

 

PROVENANCES AND PAROLEShttp://www.createspace.com/5876855, 128 pages, $15.99

 

 

 

 

 

IN RIPARIAN FIELDS  http://www.createspace.com/5575818, 162 pages, $17.99

 

 

 

 

 

TORMENTING THE MONKEY http://www.createspace.com/5604224, 218 pages, $17.99

 

 

 

 

 

SILENCE LOUDER THAN A TRAIN http://www.createspace.com/4612663, 102 pages, $15.99

A bold and refreshing approach to modern poetry, one that breaks the rules when necessary and yet conforms when it suites. Highly recommended…” “If all the reader is looking for in a poetry anthology are the poetic ramblings of someone trying to impress with their command of language or a gently rolling stream of consciousness then this probably isn’t it; but for poignant and thought provoking insight and new ideas, one would be hard pressed to do better than Dean J. Baker’s ‘Silence Louder Than A Train.’” Poetry and prose poems of a passionate & intense originality which transcends the boundaries of the everyday. Words that speak, sing, and witness to convey us beyond the poems themselves to allow fresh discovery with each reading. from an early review.. ” for poignant and thought provoking insight and new ideas, one would be hard pressed to do better than Dean J. Baker’s ‘Silence Louder Than A Train.’ Highly recommended..”

 

 

 

 

 

DARK EARTH http://www.createspace.com/4904836, 142 pages, $16.99

“Having read Dark Earth by Dean J Baker my first reaction is WOW. This was written for me. His poetry speaks to me deep down in my soul. The style of writing then the naming of the poems is so on target. A must read for poetry lovers AND all who just love to read.”

Dark Earth is a thought provoking collection of poems..”

Rabelais and Hieronymus Bosch look out of dark chinks in these poems…”

READ a REVIEW: https://deanjbaker.wordpress.com/best-review-of-dark-earth/

 

THE LOST NEIGHBORHOOD http://www.createspace.com/4618837 78 pages, $13.99

Required reading for anyone wanting to learn about wit, wordplay, and good, gritty writing in general. Dean Baker knows how to turn a phrase upside down and kick it full strength out the door. Five stars, and here’s to many more…”

 

 

 

 

POETRY & HOW IT GETS THAT WAY http://www.createspace.com/5353739, 104 pages, $12.99

 

 

 

 

 

FAT ALBERT’S OUTPATIENT FOLK CLINIC http://www.createspace.com/5097232, 110 pages, $15.99

 

 

 

 

 

THE TRANSITS OF REVELATION http://www.createspace.com/5067153, 120 pages, $15.99

 

 

 

 

 

OF FLESH SCULPTURES AND ABANDONED LOVE http://www.createspace.com/4944869, 160 pages, $17.99

 

 

 

 

 

THE ESCHATOLOGICAL DOG http://www.createspace.com/4981330 152 pages, $17.99

 

 

 

 

 

BAKER’S BAD BOYS http://www.createspace.com/4684723, 108 pages, $10.99

 

 

 

 

 

THE MOON WORN TIDES http://www.createspace.com/5108209, 120 pages, $15.99

 

 

 

 

 

THE MYTHOLOGIES OF LOVE, http://www.createspace.com/4618834

90 pages, $15.99

 

 

 

 

 

MEASURING GRAVITY BY GRACE http://www.createspace.com/5061740, 128 pages, $15.99

 

 

OUR GEOGRAPHIES http://www.createspace.com/5061758 126 pages, $15.99

 

https://deanjbaker.wordpress.com/links-to-my-books-in-print/

My Poetry Ebooks

©Dean J. Baker

http://www.amazon.com/Dean-J.-Baker/e/B00IC6PGQM

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Everywhere I Go – John Newlove

jnewlove

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What are people talking about. Everywhere I go they whisper.

They stick their eyes at me, right at the base of the breastbone,
when I’m not looking.

The breastbone seems flat, pointed like a dagger to the top
of my stomach.

O, my stomach, my stomach… when the knife rips you open
it will find coffee and four strips of bacon, pieces of chewed
beard and a handwritten note saying I have left town forever
again.

©John Newlove
– excerpt from his brilliant work, Lies, jnewlovelies1972 and from A Long Continual Argument, The Selected Poems of John Newlove

John was a friend of mine – yet I had only said hello back him when I heard him read this live one time at York University. I’d been searching for the room in which the reading was to be held, and came around a corner to come face-to-face with him, and Joe Rosenblatt.

https://deanjbaker.wordpress.com/links-to-my-books-in-print//

The mothership: http://deanjbaker.wordpress.com

©Dean J. Baker

Patrick Lane, a great Canadian poet – and his poem, Legacies

patrick-lane

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Patrick Lane, a great Canadian poet. In the tradition of Al Purdy, and Charles Bukowski for those who are unfamiliar with great Poetry. The designation I use – the Canadian part, anyway – to specify country of origin.

Of course as to great and to a degree greatly unremarked poets except or even including within the country of their origins I would have to also mention Kenneth Patchen, whose book The Journal Of Albion Moonlight is not strictly poetry yet is poetry at the core. Something along the lines of Louis Ferdinand Celine‘s Journey To The End Of The Night, or his great Death On The Installment Plan. A few books, along with Djuna Barne‘s Nightwood and a few of Anais Nin‘s, with Blaise Cendrar’s ought to be de rigeur reading ( especially so his Moravagine).

Now of course these have nothing directly to do with Patrick Lane, but they are indicative of what greatness inspires in the fact of a joyful association and the discoveries made along the way.

One of his poems from The Collected Poems of Patrick Lane

Legacies

I’m smoking one of his cigars tonight
after this one
there’s only one left
a pack of cigars
Remington shaver
swagger-stick from the First War
and nothing else
legacies from the old man.

Once in all his eighty years
I saw him – father of my father,
forbear
passing my father to me
in one sudden moment
of a prairie night
begat
begat

and I sit here and smoke his cigar tonight
while I clean his earthly hairs
from the razor
sit and smoked
sit and consume legacies

© Patrick Lane

  • and that is just the first page…

Aslo, you might take note of his memoir – What The Stones Remember: A Life Rediscovered of which a few comments are:

“To read this book is to enter a state of enchantment.”—Alice Munro

“Patrick Lane has written a memoir of heartbreaking struggle that manages to be beautiful and encouraging, finding anchorage in what was once called Creation, the natural world and its unstinting promise of renewal.”—Thomas McGuane

“A tough, lovely book.”—Margaret Atwood

So do look for his work, and enjoy a great Canadian poet. Patrick Lane. Take note that there is even a book where 55 poets celebrate his work: https://www.amazon.com/Because-You-Loved-Being-Stranger/dp/1550171011

https://deanjbaker.wordpress.com/links-to-my-books-in-print/

©Dean J. Baker